Berkeley Lab Berkeley Lab A-Z Index Phone Book Jobs Search DOE


Scientists in the Materials Sciences Division regularly and frequently win prestigious awards at the local, national, and international levels. The list on this page reflects some of the more recent ones.


Norman Yao 2018 Science and Engineering Grant, W. M. Keck Foundation
Sayeef Salahuddin 2019 IEEE Fellow, IEEE Electron Devices Society
Thomas Russell 2018 NAI Fellow, National Academy of Inventors
Eli Yablonovitch 2019 Benjamin Franklin Medal, The Franklin Institute
Junqiao Wu Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS)
A. Paul Alivisatos 2019 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal, UCLA
A. Paul Alivisatos 2018 Wilhelm Exner Medal, Wilhelm Exner Medal Foundation
Peidong Yang Edward Mack Jr. Memorial Award, Ohio State University
Peidong Yang Julia S. and Edward C. Lee Memorial Lecture, University of Chicago
Peidong Yang 2018 Allergan Distinguished Visiting Lecturer, California State University, Long Beach
Ramamoorthy Ramesh IUPAP Magnetism Award and NĂ©el Medal


Eli Yablonovitch IEEE Edison Medal
Mark Asta TMS William Hume-Rothery Award 2019
Gerbrand Ceder TMS Fellow Award, Class of 2018
Liang Wu 2017 Michelson Postdoctoral Prize
Omar Yaghi 2017 Albert Einstein World Award of Science
Omar Yaghi 2017 Royal Society of Chemistry Spiers Memorial Award
Rob Ritchie Elected as Fellow of The Royal Society
John Clarke Elected to the American Philosophical Society
Eli Yablonovitch William R. Cherry Award
Gerbrand Ceder Elected to the National Academy of Engineering
A. Paul Alivisatos 2017 NAS Award in Chemical Sciences
Gerbrand Ceder 2017 International Battery Association Research Award


Paul Alivisatos Fellow of National Academy of Inventors (2016 Class)
Xiang Zhang 2017 A.C. Eringen Medal
Omar Yaghi Turkish Academy of Sciences (TUBA) 2016 Academy Prize
Gabor Somorjai Theodore William Richards Medal Award
Brett Helms 2016 R&D 100 Award: PIM Membranes for Long-Lived Li-S Batteries
Robert Ritchie 2017 Morris Cohen Award of The Metals, Minerals and Materials Society
Marvin Cohen 2017 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics
Miquel Salmeron Berkeley Lab Prize - Lifetime Achievement Award
Gerbrand Ceder 2016 Materials Theory Award
Peidong Yang Tsinghua University Press-Springer Nano Research Award
Ashvin Vishwanath 2016 EPS CMD Europhysics Prize
Charles Fadley Honorary Member of International Scientific Committee of the International Vacuum Ultraviolet and X-Ray Physics Conferences
Thomas Russell SPSJ International Award
Xiang Zhang Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics
Peidong Yang Elected Member to the National Academy of Sciences
Robert Birgeneau National Science Board's 2016 Vannevar Bush awardee
Irfan Siddiqi UC Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award
Thomas Russell 2016 American Chemical Society Award in Applied Polymer Science
Xiang Zhang Max Born Award
Paul Alivisatos Dan David Prize
Omar Yaghi Mustafa Scientific Prize


Paul Alivisatos National Medal of Science
Robert Streubel Ernst Eckhard Koch Prize 2015
Ulrich Dahmen Berkeley Lab Lifetime Achievement Award
Alessandra Lanzara Moore Foundation Grantee
Steve Louie Materials Research Society (MRS) Materials Theory Award
Eli Yablonovitch American Physical Society (APS) 2016 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize Recipient
Gerd Ceder Election to the Royal Flemish Academy of Arts and Sciences
Peidong Yang MacArthur 'Genius' Award
Eli Yablonovitch Newton Medal (UK Institute of Physics)
Chuck Fadley International Fellow of the Surface Science Society of Japan
Caroline Bertozzi Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award
Peidong Yang Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award
James Analytis DOE Early Career Award
Andy Minor Burton Medal, Microscopy Society of America
Gerd Ceder 2016 Morris Cohen Award of The Metals, Minerals and Materials Society
James Analytis Sloan Research Fellowship
Naomi Ginsberg Sloan Research Fellowship
Omar Yaghi Faisal Prize for Science


Nitash Balsara Fellow of the Neutron Scattering Society of America
Marvin Cohen Materials Research Society Von Hippel Award
Marvin Cohen Doctor of Science Honoris Causa, Weizmann Institute of Science
Jim De Yoreo Fellow of the Materials Research Society (MRS)
Charles Fadley David A Shirley Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement
Peter Fischer Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS)
Peter Fischer Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Mi-Young Im International Conference of AUMS (Asian Union of Magnetics Societies) 2014, Young Researcher Award
Ali Javey Nano Letters Young Investigator Lectureship
Jeffrey Long France-Berkeley Fund Early-Career Research Award
Jeffrey Long Graduate Assembly Faculty Mentor Award (UC Berkeley, 2014)
Jeffrey Long Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship
Joseph Orenstein Moore Foundation Grantee
Ramamoorthy Ramesh The Metals Society Bardeen Prize in Electronic Materials
Rob Ritchie Elected as a Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences
Rob Ritchie Acta Materialia Gold Medal Award
Miquel Salmeron Davisson-Germer Prize, American Physical Society (APS)
Ashvin Vishwanath Guggenheim Fellowship
Ashvin Vishwanath Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS)
Eli Yablonovitch Rank Prize (UK)
Xiang Zhang American Society of Mechanical Engineers Fitzroy Medal
Ron Zuckerman HC Brown Symposium Lecturer


Marvin Cohen Oppenheimer Lecture, University of California, Berkeley
Marvin Cohen Doctor of Science Honoris Causa, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Marvin Cohen Honorary Chair, International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors
Jim De Yoreo American Association for Crystal Growth (AACG) Award
Kenneth A. Goldberg SPIE Photomask 2013, Best Oral Paper Award
Alex Pines, Vikram Bajaj, Scott Seltzer, Paul Ganssle R&D 100 Award: Optically-Detected Oil Well Logging by MRI: peering deep into the earth
Rob Ritchie Elected Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences
Rob Ritchie David Turnbull Award (Materials Research Society)
Robert Schoenlein Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS)
Gabor Somorjai National Academy of Sciences Award in Chemical Sciences
Junqiao Wu PECASE (Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers)
Eli Yablonovitch Elected as Foreign Member of the Royal Society of London


Marvin Cohen Dickson Prize in Science
Alex Pines Einstein Professorship, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Ramamoorthy Ramesh Distinguished Alumnus, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, INDIA
Rob Ritchie Life Member of TMS (The Materials, Minerals & Metals Society)
Miquel Salmeron Materials Research Society (MRS) Medal Award
Eli Yablonovitch Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Eli Yablonovitch Harvey Prize of Israel
Eli Yablonovitch Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Photonics Award


Alex Pines, Vikram Bajaj, David Wemmer, Matthew Francis, Pravaeena Garimella, Dominic Graziani, Tyler Meldrum, Monica Smith R&D 100 Award: Magnetic Resonance Microarray Imaging (MRMI
Alex Pines Doctor Honoris Causa, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel
Alex Pines Doctor of Science Honoris Causa, Guru Nanak Dev University, India
Rob Ritchie Elected Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences


Jim De Yoreo Laudise Prize (International Organization for Crystal Growth)
Alex Pines Outstanding Performance Award, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Alex Pines Elected, Foreign Fellow, National Academy of Sciences India
Miquel Salmeron R&D 100 Award, R&D Magazine
Eli Yablonovitch Mountbatten Medal of the British IET