Berkeley Lab Berkeley Lab A-Z Index Phone Book Jobs Search DOE

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

We are committed to supporting the MSD Community in the workplace by creating a welcoming environment where everyone is valued and respected.

Objectives

  • Tools - Provide tools, such as DEI Minutes, to promote DEI discussion and awareness
  • Engagement - Implement active measures to promote increased diversity in MSD through engagement with PI’s, postdocs, graduate student researchers and staff
  • Outreach - Work to expand the STEM pipeline through partnership with UCB organizations to provide mentorship and research opportunities
  • Assessment - Use surveys and statistics to recommend policies and strategies to promote diversity and inclusion in MSD and at the Lab

The Executive Committee achieves these objectives through the following activities:

  • Organizing Quarterly Meetings with MSD Lab Representatives to foster conversations around DEI and to raise awareness of DEI tools and activities
    • Examples of recent meeting topics: Influencing, Microagressions, Upstanding, Difficult Conversations
  • Holding monthly meetings to discuss DEI topics related to the Division and Lab and to formulate recommended actions to MSD regarding policies and activities
  • Coordinating with Lab and other Division DEI Committees to communicate Best Practices and to share tools and resources

Committee

Teresa Calarco, Chair tlcalarco@lbl.gov
Debbie Tan debbie.tan@lbl.gov
Stephanie Didas SDidas@lbl.gov
Sinead Griffin sgriffin@lbl.gov
Paul Johnson pmjohnson@lbl.gov
Ryan Miyakawa rhmiyakawa@lbl.gov
Archana Raja archana.raja@berkeley.edu
Anthony Salazar anthonysalazar @lbl.gov
Mark Asta* mdasta@lbl.gov
Peter Fischer* pjfischer@lbl.gov

* Ad hoc LBNL DEI Committee Member

Interested in Attending Our Quarterly Meetings?

Contact Teresa Calarco: tlcalarco@lbl.gov or Steph Didas: sdidas@lbl.gov for more information.

Interested in Joining MSD's Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee?

Contact Teresa Calarco at tlcalarco@lbl.gov for more information