LBL Research Review August 1994


Patents were recently awarded to the following LBL researchers:

A. Paul Alivisatos and Avery N. Goldstein for low-temperature thin films formed from nanocrystal precursors.

Non Q. Fan and John Clark for a DC superconducting quantum interference device usable in nuclear quadrupole resonance and zero field nuclear magnetic spectrometers.

Ashok Gadgil for a gas flow means for improving efficiency of exhaust hoods.

Brent T. Griffith, Dariush K. Arasteh, and Stephen Selkowitz for gas-filled panel insulation.

Donald E. Morris for a high-pressure furnace.

Antoni K. Oppenheim, James A. Maxson, and David M. Hensinger for a jet plume injection and combustion system for internal combustion engines.

Peter Persoff, Karsten Pruess, and Larry Myers for a method and apparatus for determining two-phase flow in rock fractures.

Peter Schultz for antibody-mediated cofactor-driven reactions.

Andrew Sessler and John Dawson for a method for sequencing DNA base pairs.

Rai Ko S.F. Sun for a high-energy neutron dosimeter.

Frederick C. Wellstood, John J. Kingston, and John Clarke for a microelectronic superconducting device with multi-layer contact.

Zu Q. Xie and Claude M. Lyneis for an advanced electron cyclotron resonance ion source and electron gun.


Honors bestowed on members of the LBL scientific staff between February and July 1994 include the following:

John Clarke of the Materials Sciences Division was appointed Miller Research Professor, University of California, Berkeley.

Didier de Fontaine of the Materials Sciences Division was appointed Fellow, Council of the American Physical Society.

Alex Pines of Materials Sciences received the Federal Laboratory Consortium Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer; Centenary Lectures, Royal Society of Chemistry, and the Robert Foster Cherry Great Teacher Award, Baylor University.

Peter Schultz of Materials Sciences was appointed Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator.

Robert Schoenlein of Materials Sciences was awarded the 1994 Adolph Lomb Medal of the Optical Society of America, in recognition of his development of femtosecond spectroscopic methods and their application to fundamental studies of metals, semiconductors and molecules.

Yuen-Ron Shen of Materials Sciences was appointed Honorary Professor, Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, Academic Sinica, Shanghai, and Distinguished Travelling Lecturer, American Physical Society.

Gabor Somorjai of Materials Sciences received the Arthur W. Adamson Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Surface Chemistry in recognition of his research involving the structure and surface chemistry of molecules adsorbed on metal surfaces.

Simone Anders and André Anders of the Accelerator and Fusion Research Division received the Chatterton award, presented at the 16th International Symposium on Discharges and Electrical Insulation in Vacuum, for significant contributions as young scientists to the understanding of vacuum breakdown and discharge phenomena.

Jose Alonso, Timothy Renner, and John Staples of the Accelerator and Fusion Research Division, and William Chu and Bernhard Ludewigt of the Life Sciences Division, received a 1994 Certificate of Merit in Technology Transfer from the Federal Laboratory Consortium for their work on biomedical treatment systems.

Mark A. Nyman, Rajinder P. Singh, and Ronald Stradtner of the Engineering Division received a 1994 Federal Laboratory Consortium Award for Excellence in Technology TransferKey Concepts in Heavy Charged-Particle Radiotherapy, and for marshalling support for the next-generation hospital-based facilities.

Richard Andersen of the Chemical Sciences Division won the Humboldt Research Award for Senior U.S. Scientist.

Neil Bartlett of Chemical Sciences was named "George H. Cady Lecturer, University of Washington, Seattle.

Alex T. Bell of Chemical Sciences was awarded the Peter C. Reilly Lectureship by the Department of Chemical Engineering, at the University of Notre Dame.

William A. Lester, Jr. of Chemical Sciences was appointed to two National Research Council committees: "High Performance Computing and Communications," and "Mathematical Challenges from Computational Chemistry"

C. Bradley Moore of Chemical Sciences was awarded the 1994 Earle K. Plyler Prize of the American Physical Society.

Kenneth S. Pitzer of Chemical Sciences was awarded the Gold Medal for Distinguished Service Rice University, Houston, Texas, and Alpha Chi Sigma Hall of Fame Induction at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.

John M. Prausnitz of Chemical Sciences was appointed Plenary Lecturer, 100th Birthday Meeting of the Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry, Berlin, May 1994, and Christensen Fellow at St. Catherine's College, Oxford University, Trinity Term 1994.

Don DePaolo of the Earth Sciences Division was appointed American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellow, 1994, and awarded a Fullbright Fellowship in 1994.

Mina J. Bissell of Life Sciences was awarded the American Society for Cell Biology Women in Cell Biology Career Recognition Award, and a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship.

Stephen Derenzo of Life Sciences won the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers' Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society Merit Award.

Robert M. Glaeser of Life Sciences was awarded the Elizabeth Roberts Cole Award of the Biophysical Society.

John Harris and Peter Jacobs of the Nuclear Science Division's Relativistic Nuclear Collisions group, have received 1994 Humboldt Research Awards for Senior U.S. Scientists, sponsored by the Max Planck Institute for High Energy Physics in Munich, Germany.

Hans-Georg Ritter of the Nuclear Science Division has been selected as a CERN Scientific Associate.

Glenn T. Seaborg, LBL Associate Director at Large, was awarded the George C. Pimentel Award, given by the American Chemical Society for Chemical Education. He will also be inducted into the Alpha Chi Sigma Hall of Fame in Minneapolis, Minn. on August 4, 1994.

Write the Editor

Return to LBL Research Review Table of Contents