Berkeley Lab Berkeley Lab A-Z Index Phone Book Jobs Search DOE


Scientists in the Materials Sciences Division regularly and frequently win prestigious awards at the local, national, and international levels. The list on this page reflects some of the more recent ones.


Eli Yablonovitch Newton Medal (UK Institute of Physics)
Caroline Bertozzi Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award
Peidong Yang Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award
James Analytis DOE Early Career Award
Chuck Fadley International Fellow of the Surface Science Society of Japan
Omar Yaghi Faisal Prize for Science
Andy Minor Burton Medal, Microscopy Society of America
James Analytis Sloan Research Fellowship
Naomi Ginsberg Sloan Research Fellowship


Nitash Balsara Elected Fellow of the Neutron Scattering Society of America
Marvin Cohen Materials Research Society Von Hippel Award
Marvin Cohen Doctor of Science Honoris Causa, Weizmann Institute of Science
Jim De Yoreo Fellow of the Materials Research Society
Charles Fadley David A Shirley Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement
Peter Fischer Elected APS Fellow
Mi-Young Im International Conference of AUMS (Asian Union of Magnetics Societies) 2014, Young Researcher Award
Ali Javey Nano Letters Young Investigator Lectureship
Jeffrey Long France-Berkeley Fund Early-Career Research Award
Jeffrey Long Graduate Assembly Faculty Mentor Award (UC Berkeley, 2014)
Jeffrey Long Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship
Ramamoorthy Ramesh The Metals Society Bardeen Prize in Electronic Materials
Rob Ritchie Elected as a Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences
Rob Ritchie Acta Materialia Gold Medal Award
Miquel Salmeron APS Davisson-Germer Prize
Ashvin Vishwanath Guggenheim Fellowship
Ashvin Vishwanath APS Fellowship
Eli Yablonovitch Rank Prize (UK)
Xiang Zhang American Society of Mechanical Engineers Fitzroy Medal
Ron Zuckerman HC Brown Symposium Lecturer


Marvin Cohen Oppenheimer Lecture, University of California, Berkeley
Marvin Cohen Doctor of Science Honoris Causa, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Marvin Cohen Honorary Chair, International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors
Jim De Yoreo AACG Award (American Association for Crystal Growth)
Kenneth A. Goldberg SPIE Photomask 2013, Best Oral Paper Award
Alex Pines, Vikram Bajaj, Scott Seltzer, Paul Ganssle R&D 100 Award: Optically-Detected Oil Well Logging by MRI: peering deep into the earth
Rob Ritchie Elected Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences
Rob Ritchie David Turnbull Award (Materials Research Society)
Robert Schoenlein American Physical Society Fellow
Gabor Somorjai National Academy of Sciences Award in Chemical Sciences
Junqiao Wu PECASE (Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers)
Eli Yablonovitch Elected as Foreign Member of the Royal Society of London


Marvin Cohen Dickson Prize in Science
Alex Pines Einstein Professorship, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Ramamoorthy Ramesh Distinguished Alumnus, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, INDIA
Rob Ritchie Life Member of TMS (The Materials, Minerals & Metals Society)
Miquel Salmeron MRS Medal Award
Eli Yablonovitch Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Eli Yablonovitch Harvey Prize of Israel
Eli Yablonovitch IEEE Photonics Award


Alex Pines, Vikram Bajaj, David Wemmer, Matthew Francis, Pravaeena Garimella, Dominic Graziani, Tyler Meldrum, Monica Smith R&D 100 Award: Magnetic Resonance Microarray Imaging (MRMI)
Alex Pines Doctor Honoris Causa, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel
Alex Pines Doctor of Science Honoris Causa, Guru Nanak Dev University, India
Rob Ritchie Elected Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences


Jim De Yoreo Laudise Prize (International Organization for Crystal Growth)
Alex Pines Outstanding Performance Award, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Alex Pines Elected, Foreign Fellow, National Academy of Sciences India
Miquel Salmeron R&D 100 Award, R&D Magazine
Eli Yablonovitch Mountbatten Medal of the British IET