Bradley Moore New Chemical Sciences Division Director

September 4, 1998

By Lynn Yarris, [email protected]

C. Bradley Moore, former dean of the UC Berkeley College of Chemistry, and a world authority on energy transfer and chemical reaction dynamics, is the new director of the Chemical Sciences Division. He takes over for Norman Edelstein, who has served as acting CSD director for the past year.

Bradley Moore

Bradley Moore

"We are extremely fortunate to have someone of Dr. Moore's scientific accomplishment, vision, and administrative experience leading the Chemical Sciences Division," said Lab Director Charles Shank in announcing Moore's appointment.

"At the same time, the Laboratory has benefited from the thoughtful and energetic leadership of Dr. Norman Edelstein for the past year. I am deeply grateful to him for his dedicated service."

Moore, 58, a native of Boston, has been affiliated with the Lab since 1974. He joined the UC Berkeley faculty in 1963, the year he received his Ph.D. in chemistry from there. His undergraduate degree was from Harvard.

Moore was among the first to apply lasers to the study of physical chemistry, using them to obtain quantum-state resolved measurements of vibrations and rotational energy transfers. His demonstration of the isotopic selectivity in the photochemistry of formaldehyde was the first use of a laser for isotope enrichment.

Most recently, Moore's research has focused on the interplay between energy transfer and chemical reaction processes. Lasers are used to resolve the quantum state dependence of processes so that the fundamental microscopic forces which control them can be deduced.

Internationally renowned in the field of physical chemistry, Moore served as dean of UC Berkeley's College of Chemistry from 1988 to 1994. He was chair of the University's Department of Chemistry from 1982 to 1986.

The plethora of awards and recognitions Moore has received include the E. O. Lawrence Award from the U.S. Department of Energy and election to the National Academy of Sciences, both in 1986.

Search | Home | Questions